

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 5, 2017

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

# Biophysical Society Selects Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year for 2017

The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Daniela Kraft, from the Huygens-Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratory, University of Leiden, The Netherlands, has been selected the winner of the Biophysical Journal Paper of the Year Award for 2017. Kraft receives the award for her paper "Microparticle Assembly Pathways on Lipid Membranes," which she coauthored with Casper van der Wel and Doris Heinrich, also of Leiden University. The paper was published in the September 5, 2017, issue of *Biophysical Journal*.

This award was established to recognize one outstanding paper by a corresponding author who is also a young investigator. Papers are nominated for the award by the Associate Editors of the Journal.

Kraft will receive a monetary prize and a plaque, and will present a short talk at the Award Symposium, during the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting on Tuesday, February 20, 2018, at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through Biophysical Journal, its annual meeting, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. The annual meeting draws over 6500 scientists, and will be held February 17-21, 2018 in San Francisco, California.

Biophysical Journal (BJ) is the leading international journal for original research in molecular, cellular, and systems biophysics. Modern biophysics is a broad and rapidly advancing field encompassing the study of biological structures with a focus on mechanisms at the molecular, cellular, and systems level using the concepts and methods of physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, and computational science. Research on a broad range of biological problems is unified when approached with this common set of intellectual tools.

### **OFFICERS**

#### President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

#### President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

### Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

#### Secretary

Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

#### Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

### **Executive Officer**

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

#### COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Iane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets

## **BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL**

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

Ioanna Swain

### **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

**Awards** 

Betsy Komives

**Early Careers** Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

# **Finance**

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

## International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

# **Member Services**

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

# **Nominating**

Art Palmer

**Professional Opportunities** 

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

**Public Affairs** 

Edward Egelman

**Publications** 

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich